Gluten Free Sunday Lunch at the Mill

Our Sunday Lunch has always been popular and now they are even more so, as we offer a gluten free version of our tasty Sunday Roast, no need to book, just come along and enjoy our licensed Weavers cafe.

You may be wondering about a gluten-free diet for many reasons. Maybe you were recently diagnosed with celiac disease. Or a classmate of your child’s can’t eat gluten. You may have noticed restaurant menu selections marked as gluten free or all the foods in natural food stores that are labelled gluten free. Whatever the reason, you want to know, “what exactly is a gluten-free diet?”

A gluten-free diet does not include the grains wheat, barley, rye, or hybrids of these grains. This includes all varieties and forms of these grains, such as spelt (a type of wheat) and malt (made from barley).

A gluten-free diet is called a gluten-free diet because the grains that must be avoided all contain a protein called gluten.

Most people who follow a gluten-free diet have celiac disease, a serious genetically-based autoimmune disease. When gluten is eaten by a person with celiac disease it triggers an immune system reaction that damages the lining of the small intestine. When the lining of the small intestine is damaged, nutrients can not be properly absorbed. Once gluten is completely removed from the diet the intestine is able to heal.